Premiere: Monzanto Sound – 23

London-based four piece Monzanto Sound begin life with a debut release that connects the dots between krautrock, funk, trip hop and neo-soul.

Finding a home on None More Records, the five tracks are a cosmic trip through a myriad of different flavours, from hypnotic polyrhythms and dubbed out atmospheres to melodic piano leads and hazy kraut guitar riffs, all laced with lead singer Sienna Bordello’s commanding vocals.

Our pick, opener ’23’, flaunts the musical sensibilities of Damo Suzuki era Can and the dynamic punk funk tones of ESG, layering syncopated drums and percussion with a solid funk groove, low-pitched bassline and angsty lyrics.

Time Lapse is out on 4th September via None More Records.

Comments are closed.