Hollis Parker – Looking Back EP

New York producer Hollis Parker caught our ears early on last year with a beefy edit of Roy Ayer’s 1976 classic ‘Everybody Loves The Sunshine‘. The track preceded his debut release back in September on the London-based imprint SoSure Music, a forward-thinking label championing some exceptionally soulful underground house cuts from around the world.

Now on their 6th release, Parker’s Looking Back EP is the latest contribution from the label, and might just be their strongest yet. The 3-tracker from the New Yorker is beautifully balanced, swaying between smooth jazz-tinged sounds and infectious rhythms.

Parker’s magic ear for samples shines through on the EP, layering blissful vocals with rich Motown string-sets in opening track ‘Parker’s Lament’. Picking up the pace, ‘Infinity’ flips the golden-age hip-hop track ‘93 To Infinity‘ by Souls of Mischief, replacing the original drums with a weighty shuffle behind sweeping horn licks and fluttering Rhodes samples. Closing the EP, ‘The Moment’ brings a more classic disco house vibe, layering Wurlitzer licks and warm horns with sun-infused 70’s vocals and dusty drum hits.

All-in-all, a stand-out release from an artist we hope to hear more from in the near future.

Hollis Parker’s Looking Back EP is out on vinyl through SoSure Music from 6th April 2015.

Comments are closed.