Monday Morning Mixtape 040

Feast your ears another Monday Morning selection, lovingly prepared to start your week off in the right way. We’ve got plenty of fresh talent for you to unearth. There’s Nigerian-born soul talent Wayne Snow, whose debut EP on Tartelet is Max Graef-produced. Jack J, one half of Pender Street Steppers, has made one of our jams of the summer, forthcoming next month on Mood Hut. Some more familiar new noise comes from Al Dobson Jr‘s Sounds From The Village Vol. 1 (out now on Izwid) and from our favourite Polish balearic specialists, Ptaki, off their forthcoming EP on The Very Polish Cut Outs.

And where would a MMM be complete without some older gems: a cover of a summery jazz hit, made popular by Billie Holiday and Sam Cooke; some afrobeat from the 1970’s Islamic Funk Belt, courtesy of Le Super Borgou De Parakou;  a reggae cover of a William De Vaughn classic; and some drop-dead gorgeous soulful hip-hop from Jean Grae.

Enjoy the mixtape and check out the tracklist below. Happy Monday!


1. Bobbito (a.k.a DJ Cucumber Slice) – Summertime
2. Peven Everett  – I’m Feelin’ You In & Out
3. Jack J – Something (On My Mind)
4. Ptaki – Jak Ptaki
5. The New Mastersounds – Freckles
6. Hugh Masekela – Graving In The Grass
7. Donovan Carless – Be Thankful For What You’ve Got
8. Le Super Borgou De Parakou – Wegne ‘Nda M’Banza
9. Al Dobson Jr. – Sensi Block
10. Wayne Snow – Blue Moon
11. Apollo Brown – Black Pearls
12. Quadron – LFT (Mr Leigh Edit)
13. Jean Grae – U & Me & Everyone We Knew
14. Phil France – The Swimmer

Comments are closed.